Various lighters

Lighter Ingersoll Deluxe

Saturday, November 14th, 2009

Mysterious product branded Ingersoll Deluxe. A quick search shows that under the same brand in the years 1930-1940 in the U.S. produced watches with Mickey Mouse. More about Ingersoll know nothing :)

Lighter itself is very heavy for its size - it is suspected that the body is made of an alloy with the addition of lead (as evidenced and bluish-gray color of the metal, where worn). Wheel with straight incisions typical of the 1940s. The lighter has a classic cover gray crackle - "baked" paint. All in all - a very strong and do the thing thoroughly. Note the prominent wall thickness.

Austrian automatic lighter Noblesse

Thursday, November 12th, 2009

Small Austrian lighter Noblesse - anyone not like. It is automatic: when you press the lever lid opened, striking a spark. Cap pulled two springs, which can be seen inside. A typical representative of the "machine age" - the 1950s of the 20th century.

Methanol Lighter 1930: a dangerous gadget

Friday, October 30th, 2009

Today I'll show you one of the most unusual lighters ever get to the page of our website. Dangerous gadget: a self-igniting lighter, running on methanol, without flint and without any moving parts!

Such lighters its appearance in the 1920s of the 20th century (and are produced by several different companies, and up to 1950) are required to open the German chemist Johann Wolfgang Dobereiner, which essentially is the father and inventor of lighters as an instrument for making fire. In 1823 (wait for it - 186 years ago!) Dobereiner discovered the catalytic properties of platinum, in particular, the ability of spongy platinum or platinum black (platinum black - a fine powder of platinum compounds produced by reduction of pure platinum) Flammable hydrogen and facilitate other chemical reactions accompanied by heat and inflammation. On the basis of his discovery, he created the so-called Dobereiner lamp (or hydrogen flint), which in fact was the world's cigarette lighter, though damn uncomfortable and extremely dangerous:

This infernal machine worked like this: a bank zinc plate reacts with the sulfuric acid, resulting in a release hydrogen. When the valve is opened hydrogen rushed out, coming into contact with the platinum plate, causing an instant reaction proceeded to heat and fire. An unknown number of users of such lighters dead or mutilated during use! However, hydrogen is a flint and became the prototype for all future lighters - with him began the era of "wearable fire", which can be obtained relatively simple (albeit dangerous) way.

Methanol Lighter Ray-O-Lite works on the same principle Dobereiner. In the large compartment (where the inside is rolled wick) is filled with methanol (aka wood alcohol). Not very much, enough to soak the wick well. On the cover of the lighter in a small part of it is a small brass frame, which is stretched very thin platinum wire, and on it - a couple of balls that same platinum black:

To get the fire rather slowly submerge this frame with platinum balls in the large main compartment with a wick. Platinum react with methanol vapor, causing their heating and ignition.

Here are the instructions from the box with a description of the entire process:

You will not believe it, but this stuff really works! Unfortunately, I could not immediately find a methanol :) to conduct tests lighter (though I believe that it will work on ethanol, the main key to success - clean fuel agent). But on the Internet, I found a photo with a demonstration of a similar lighters:

Not Zippo, but also off. Various petrol lighters.

Saturday, November 1st, 2008

Nameless Korean lighter advertising garage of one John Somerdeyla, NJ :) Pay attention to the funny stamp - brand lighters were not marked, but there is a phone number where you can order a lighter to outdoor (at least 5 dozen!)

Japanese gasoline lighter keychain Evanus. :) The scale runs alongside regular Zippo.

Разные зажигалки

Зажигалка Ingersoll Deluxe

Суббота, Ноябрь 14th, 2009

Загадочное изделие под маркой Ingersoll Deluxe. Беглый поиск показывает, что под этой же маркой в 1930-1940 годах в США выпускались наручные часы с Микки-Маусами. Более про Ингерсолл ничего не известно :)

Сама зажигалка очень тяжёлая для своего размера — есть подозрение, что корпус сделан из сплава с добавлением свинца (об этом говорит и серо-синеватый цвет металла в местах потёртостей). Колёсико с прямыми насечками характерно для 1940-х годов. Зажигалка имеет классическое покрытие gray crackle — “запечённая” краска. В целом — очень прочная и основательно сделанная вещь. Обратите внимание на выдающуюся толщину стенок.

Австрийская автоматическая зажигалка Noblesse

Четверг, Ноябрь 12th, 2009

Маленькая австрийская зажигалка Noblesse — ни на кого не похожая. Она автоматическая: при нажатии на рычажок крышка открывается, высекая искру. Крышку тянут две пружинки, которые можно разглядеть внутри. Типичный представитель “машинной эпохи” — 1950-е годы 20 века.

Метаноловая зажигалка 1930-х годов: опасный гаджет

Пятница, Октябрь 30th, 2009

Сегодня я покажу одну из самых необычных зажигалок, когда-либо попадавших на страницы нашего сайта. Опасный гаджет: самозажигающаяся зажигалка, работающая на метаноле, без кремня и вообще без движущихся частей!

Подобные зажигалки своим появлением в 1920-х годах 20 века (а такие выпускались несколькими разными компаниями, и вплоть до 1950-х годов) обязаны открытию немецкого химика Иоганна Вольфганга Дёберейнера, который по сути является отцом и изобретателем зажигалки как прибора для добывания огня. В 1823 году (вдумайтесь — 186 лет назад!) Дёберейнер открыл каталитические свойства платины, в частности, способность губчатой платины или платиновой черни (платиновая чернь — тонкий порошок платины, получаемый восстановлением соединений чистой платины) воспламенять водород, а также способствовать другим химическим реакциям, сопровождающимся нагревом и воспламенением. На основе своего открытия он создал так называемую лампу Дёберейнера (или водородное огниво), которая по сути была первой в мире зажигалкой, хотя и чертовски неудобной и чрезвычайно опасной:

Работала эта адская машина так: в банке цинковая пластина вступала в реакцию с серной кислотой, в результате чего выделялся водород. При открытии клапана водород устремлялся наружу, вступая в контакт с платиновой пластиной, из-за чего протекала мгновенная реакция его нагрева и воспламенения. Неизвестно, сколько пользователей такой зажигалки погибло или было покалечено в процессе её использования! Однако, это водородное огниво и стало прообразом всех будущих зажигалок — с него началась эра “носимого огня”, который можно было получить сравнительно простым (хотя и опасным) способом.

Метаноловая зажигалка Ray-O-Lite работает на том же принципе Дёберейнера. В большое отделение (где внутри находится свёрнутый фитиль) заливается метанол (он же древесный спирт). Не очень много, достаточно, чтобы фитиль хорошо пропитался. На крышке зажигалки в маленькой её части находится маленькая медная рамочка, на которой натянута тончайшая платиновая проволока, а на ней — пара шариков той самой платиновой черни:

Для получения огня достаточно медленно погрузить эту рамочку с платиновыми шариками в большое отделение с фитилём. Платина вступит в реакцию с парами метанола, что вызовет их нагрев и воспламенение.

Вот инструкция с коробки с описанием всего процесса:

Вы не поверите, но эта штука действительно работает! К сожалению, я не смог сходу найти метанол :), чтобы провести испытания зажигалки (хотя я полагаю, что работать она будет и на этиловом спирте; главный залог успеха — чистота горючего агента). Но в интернете я нашёл фотографии с демонстрацией работы аналогичной зажигалки:

Не Zippo, но тоже горит. Разные бензиновые зажигалки.

Суббота, Ноябрь 1st, 2008

Безымянная корейская зажигалка с рекламой гаража некоего Джонни из Сомердейла, штат Нью-Джерси :) Обратие внимание на забавный штамп — марка зажигалки там не обозначена, зато есть телефон, по которому можно заказать зажигалки со своей рекламой (не менее 5 дюжин!):

Японская бензиновая зажигалка-брелок Evanus. Работает :) Для масштаба рядом обычная Zippo.