Broken record price: $ 18,800 for 1933 Zippo

We are once again witnessed a historic event in the collector's world! March 8 on Ebay Zippo lighter in 1933 was sold for $ 18,800 unimaginable! The title of the most expensive Zippo goes to the instance of the lighters sold almost a year ago for 12 thousand dollars . In this case, today's record Zippo, as proshlogody instance is stored at 100% original: in the last year has been replaced with a lighter wheel on later with slanting naschekami and replaced at this cam, instead of the original hook-and he has a modern shape.

The initial price for which was put on Ebay, this lighter, was nothing less than $ 65,000. Of course, this was a very strong inflection, and the price would not have to pay someone. I gave his assessment of the value of this instance to $ 12,000-15,000 and slightly err on the side, but as we can see, not much.

This Zippo has now become the world's second auction of its value. Let us remember that the most expensive in the history of Zippo cost the buyer 37 thousand dollars, and it was a brand new 1933-th straight from the archives kompnaii Zippo Manufacturing Co, which was sold at auction in 2007 to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the company. This copy bought Didier Karoubi , a French collector and director of marketing for the French branch of Zippo. By the way, this auction's funny story I told my friend and collector of Canadian Robert Bellows, personally attend. Mr. Karroubi was at the auction, along with his partner, and they also traded together. Companion is not very good command of English, so he could follow the auction only through an interpreter. Once the auction is over, he rushed for Didier with fists and nearly killed him. As it turned out later, because of ignorance of the English language companion Mr. Karoubi recklessly traded with him, because I thought that it is a finite sum of 37 hundreds, and even thousands of dollars. When it was announced (and translated into French), the final price for which Mr. Karoubi bought this lighter, his partner just had a stroke. The misunderstanding arose and was a quarrel between friends quickly hushed up, but the memories of that episode from the direct participants of the event were almost brighter than from the auction.

And we congratulate the new owner of this beautiful and rare lighters and wish to keep it for many years :)

See also:

Tags: 1933 , eBay

6 Comments

  1. Dmitry (10/03/2010 13:01) ( Reply )

    I had all the same to take it for 65 bucks tonnnn but lacked Decl))))))))

  2. Ltd (19.03.2010 15:09) ( Reply )

    its height is 2.5 cm? o_O

    1. kypexin (19.03.2010 15:12) ( Reply )

      2 7/16 inches :)

  3. Cypher (01.05.2010 15:35) ( Reply )

    already sold on ebay for $ 29,000 =)

    1. kypexin (01.05.2010 18:01) ( Reply )

      Entertaining! I recognize the current vendor, what's the story happened to her, and be sure to write a sequel :)

  4. Cypher (01.05.2010 23:01) ( Reply )

    I think here there was a common search for gains of more than 11-thousand $ =)

Leave a comment

Рекорд цены побит: $18,800 за Zippo 1933 года

Мы с вами в очередной раз стали свидетелями исторического события в коллекционном мире! 8 марта на Ebay зажигалка Zippo 1933 года была продана за невообразимые $18,800! Звание самой дорогой Zippo переходит к этому экземпляру от зажигалки, проданной год назад почти за 12 тысяч долларов. При этом сегодняшняя рекордная Zippo, как и прошлогодий экземпляр, не является на 100% сохранившимся оригиналом: у прошлогодней зажигалки был заменено колёсико на более позднее с косыми насчеками, а у этой заменён кулачок, и вместо оригинального крючкообразного он имеет современную форму.

Первоначальная цена, по которой была выставлена на Ebay эта зажигалка, была ни много ни мало $65,000. Разумеется, это был очень сильный перегиб, и такую цену вряд ли бы кто-то заплатил. Я давал свою оценку стоимости этого экземпляра в $12,000-15,000 и слегка ошибся в меньшую сторону, но, как мы видим, ненамного.

Эта Zippo теперь стала второй в мире по своей аукционной стоимости. Вспомним, что самая дорогая Zippo в истории стоила покупателю 37 тысяч долларов, и это была новёхонькая 1933-ая прямиком из архивов компнаии Zippo Manufacturing Co, которая была продана на аукционе в 2007 году в рамках празднования 75-летия компании. Этот экземпляр купил Дидье Каруби, французский коллекционер и директор по маркетингу французского отделения Zippo. Кстати, с этим аукционом связана забавная история, которую мне рассказал мой друг и коллекционер из Канады Роберт Мехи, лично присутствовавший на нём. Мистер Каруби был на аукционе вместе со своим компаньоном, и торговались они тоже вместе. Компаньон не очень хорошо владел английским языком, поэтому мог следить за ходом аукциона только через переводчика. Как только аукцион закончился, он бросился на Дидье с кулаками и чуть было не убил его. Как выяснилось чуть позже, из-за незнания английского языка компаньон мистера Каруби азартно торговался вместе с ним, так как считал, что речь идёт о конечной сумме в 37 сотен, а не тысяч долларов. Когда объявили (и перевели на французский) конечную цену, за которую мистер Каруби купил эту зажигалку, его компаньона чуть не хватил удар. Недоразумение и возникшую было между друзьями ссору быстро замяли, но воспоминания об этом эпизоде у непосредственных участников события остались едва ли не ярче, чем от самого аукциона.

Ну а нам остаётся только поздравить нового владельца этой прекрасной и редчайшей зажигалки и пожелать хранить её ещё много лет :)

Читайте также:

Tags: ,

6 Комментариев

  1. Дмитрий (10.03.2010 13:01) (Ответить)

    надо было все таки взять ее за 65 тонннн баксов, но децл не хватало ))))))))

  2. Ltd (19.03.2010 15:09) (Ответить)

    её высота 2,5 см? о_О

    1. kypexin (19.03.2010 15:12) (Ответить)

      2 7/16 дюйма :)

  3. Cypher (01.05.2010 15:35) (Ответить)

    уже продается на ebay за 29.000$ =)

    1. kypexin (01.05.2010 18:01) (Ответить)

      Занятно! Я узнаю у текущего продавца, что же за история с ней случилась, и обязательно напишу продолжение :)

  4. Cypher (01.05.2010 23:01) (Ответить)

    думаю здесь случился обыкновенный поиск выгоды в размере более чем 11-ти тыс. $ =)

Оставить комментарий




sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet pandora outlet pandora outlet 2018