Belle Kogan Zippo: male female design things

Zippo prototypes, which will be discussed in this review are the creations Bell Kogan (Belle Kogan) - one of the first female designers in America. Itself Bel (1902 - 2000), later became a U.S. citizen, was born in the village in the Ukraine in Ilyashevka Trostyanetskaya near Vinnitsa region. In 1906, her family moved to the city of Allentown, Pennsylvania. While still a student of high school, Bell began to discover a wonderful talent for drawing and design art.

Bell was one of the first industrial designers who experimented with plastic. She immediately saw the tremendous potential in the production materials, while most of the other designers experimented with polymers. She said the plastic was just in the process of development, but then it became popular very quickly.

Bell Kogan was the only female designer in America in the 1930s., Which could confidently and easily compete with male designers. In 1994 she was awarded a personal award from the Industrial Designers Society of the United States.

Here are a few drawings and photos of products, developed and patented by Bell Kogan.

Bell also received orders from the company Zippo Manufacturing Co. She was instructed to develop designs lighters Zippo, which was made in 1938. Thus, it has developed four design Zippo lighter, chrome-plated and enameled in black with numbers K-1, K-2, K-5 and K-7. But in this review are only prototypes of these models are not covered by enamel. All Zippo in 1938, developed by Bell Kogan, are unique and rare.

Zippo 1938 with chrome finish. Model K-2.

And this is a model of K-2 without the chrome cover.

Zippo 1938 with brass casing. Model K-5.

Gold plated Zippo 1938. Model K-1.

Zippo with brass casing. Model K-7.

By the way. Literally about a month ago on Ebay has sold one of the rare instances of Zippo - Model Belle Kogan K-2. Despite the fact that the insert in the lighter was new, but not native, but she Lighter pretty scruffy time, though the final price was more than impressive: 717 dollars. Here it is, a rare beauty:

Article is based on material www.zippogallery.com

See also:

Tags: 1938 , belle Kogan

1 comment

  1. Merqury (11.05.2010 13:27) ( Reply )

    Good ...

Leave a comment

Belle Kogan Zippo: женский дизайн мужских вещей

Прототипы Зиппо, о которых пойдет речь в этом обзоре являются творениями Бэл Коган (Belle Kogan) — одной из первых женщин–дизайнеров в Америке. Сама Бэл (1902 – 2000), впоследствии получившая американское гражданство, родилась в селе Ильяшевка на Украине в Тростянецком районе Винницкой области. В 1906 году ее семья эмигрировала в город Аллентаун, штат Пенсильвания. Еще будучи ученицей старшей школы, Бэл стала обнаруживать в себе удивительные способности к рисованию и дизайнерскому искусству.

Бэл была одним из первых промышленных дизайнеров, которые экспериментировали с пластиком. Она сразу увидела огромный потенциал, заложенный в этом производственном материале, в то время как большинство остальных дизайнеров экспериментировали с полимерами. По ее словам, пластик был только в процессе своего развития, но уже тогда он становился популярным очень быстрыми темпами.

Бэл Коган была единственной женщиной–дизайнером в Америке в 1930х гг., которой удавалось уверенно и легко конкурировать с дизайнерами–мужчинами. В 1994 году она была удостоена личной награды от  Общества промышленных дизайнеров США.

Перед Вами несколько чертежей и фотографий изделий, разработанных и запатентованных Бэл Коган.

Бэл так же получала заказы и от компании Zippo Manufacturing Co. Ей было поручено разработать дизайны зажигалок Zippo, которые изготавливались в 1938 году. Таким образом, ею были разработаны четыре дизайна зажигалок Зиппо, хромированных и покрытых эмалью черного цвета с номерами K-1, K-2, K-5, и K-7. Но в нашем обзоре представлены только прототипы этих моделей, не покрытые эмалью. Все Зиппо 1938 года, разработанные Бэл Коган, являются уникальными и редкими экземплярами.

Зиппо 1938 года с хромированным покрытием. Модель K-2.

А это уже модель K-2 без хромированного покрытия.

Зиппо 1938 года с корпусом из латуни. Модель K-5.

Позолоченная Зиппо 1938 года. Модель K-1.

Зиппо с корпусом из латуни. Модель K-7.

Кстати. Буквально около месяца назад на Ebay был продан один из редких экземпляров Zippo — модель Belle Kogan K-2. Несмотря на то, что инсерт у зажигалки был новый, а не родной, а сама зажигалка изрядно потрёпана временем, тем не менее окончательная цена оказалась более чем впечатляющей: 717 долларов. Вот она, эта редкая красавица:

Статья написана на основе материалов сайта www.zippogallery.com

Читайте также:

Tags: ,

3 Комментариев

  1. Merqury (11.05.2010 13:27) (Ответить)

    Хороши…

  2. xxxporn (14.12.2018 13:29) (Ответить)

    Wһy ρeople still use to read news рapers when in thіs technological globe everything
    iѕ presented on wеb?

  3. หนังxxx (15.12.2018 08:00) (Ответить)

    Thiѕ is my first time visit at here and i am genuinely
    happy to read everthing at alone place.

Оставить комментарий




sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher sac goyard pas cher pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi pandora charms outlet saldi golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose soldes golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet golden goose outlet lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher lunette de soleil ray ban ray ban pas cher ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet ray ban outlet pandora outlet pandora outlet 2018