Zippo Contempo

Our mission is not just mention of the lighters Zippo Contempo. Everyone knows that in addition to its "anchor" of the product - petrol lighters, Zippo Mfg Company also manufactures and gas models (butane lighters). The most detailed information about these interesting developments community Zippo fans around the world told a prominent collector from Germany, Andy.

First butane Zippo were presented in September 1985. The patent on them Des. 284.113 was registered by the U.S. Patent Office December 10, 1984, and finally issued June 3, 1986.

In all there were 18 models, among them as the standard (standard), and the slim model (trim). The standard model also included the gas lighters for lighting tubes. Zippo Contempo is the only lighter Zippo MFG Company, the bottom of which you can see the inscription Japan. The fact that the components and parts made in Japan, and the build was carried out in the United States. However, there are sources on the Internet, according to which the production of Zippo Contempo fully implemented in Japan. It could well be some little-known outsourcing company, to carry out orders and assembly for Zippo MFG Company. The unequivocal answer is not among collectors. Be that as it may, on the basis of logic, the development of themselves lighters are likely belongs to the company Zippo, because we know that it has been issued a patent for it in 1986.

Here is a clipping from The New York Times, which refers to the new at the time the lighter Zippo:

Zippo Contempo sold in their original packaging, within which there was a gray suede box (it - she lighter), and instructions.

On Zippo Contempo, as well as the classic petrol lighters Zippo, with a lifetime warranty:

The name of this series received a lighter, probably based on fashion trends and time. "Contempo", most likely, is the abbreviation of the word contemporary - Eng. modern, matching the spirit of the time. Surely this was due to the fact that gas lighters at the time were no less common than gasoline, and to fill the gap, Zippo MFG Company decided to release their own butane lighters. From our previous articles, you probably already know how the company liked to experiment.

Please note that the replacement of flint on the standard models (standard) and slim models (trim) is markedly different:

Positioning Zippo Contempo, as a rule, also differed from the classic petrol Zippo. If petrol Zippo as a mass product positioned as working, reliable lighters that are able to serve in the most severe conditions, the Zippo Contempo more like a luxury item. It was an attempt to enter the market of butane lighters. This is indirectly saying and the prices in the catalog, given that the Zippo butane sold in the second half of the 1980s.:

In 1988 he published a catalog of Zippo Sales Force, in which he said about the possibility of ordering laser engraving on the lighter, including models for lighting tubes.

Zippo Contempo for the tubes were different from more conventional elongated and slightly bent at an angle "nose." In the photo below right "Pipe» Zippo Contempo, left - standard:

Production of Zippo Contempo was discontinued around 1992. The main reasons for closing this project were associated with high costs themselves lighter and their expensive servicing. Despite this, the lighter has become quite popular among collectors and fans of Zippo, and unlike other gas model - Zippo Blu, is still in demand and finds its admirers.

This article was prepared on the basis of material

See also:

Tags: Contempo

    Leave a comment

Zippo Contempo

На нашем портале уже не раз встречалось упоминание о зажигалках Zippo Contempo. Всем известно, что помимо своего “якорного” продукта — бензиновые зажигалки, Zippo Mfg Company также выпускала и газовые модели (бутановые зажигалки). Наиболее подробную информацию об этих интересных разработках сообществу любителей Zippo по всему миру поведал выдающийся коллекционер из Германии Энди.

Впервые бутановые Zippo были представлены в сентябре 1985 года. Патент на них Des. 284,113 был зарегистрирован американским патентным офисом 10 декабря 1984 года, а окончательно выдан 3 июня 1986 года.

Всего было выпущено 18 моделей, среди них были как стандартные (standard), так и модели слим (trim). К стандартным моделям относились также газовые зажигалки для прикуривания трубок. Zippo Contempo является единственной зажигалкой Zippo MFG Company, на дне которой можно увидеть надпись Japan. Дело в том, что комплектующие и запчасти производились в Японии, а сама сборка осуществлялась в США. Однако в интернете встречаются источники, согласно которым производство Zippo Contempo полностью осуществлялось в Японии. Это вполне могла быть какая-нибудь малоизвестная аутсорсинговая компания, выполнявшая заказы и сборку для Zippo MFG Company. Однозначного ответа среди коллекционеров нет. Как бы то ни было, исходя из логики, разработка самих зажигалок, скорее всего, принадлежит именно компании Zippo, поскольку нам известно, что ей был выдан на это патент в 1986 году.

Перед вами вырезка из The New York Times, в которой говорится о новой на тот момент зажигалке Zippo:

Zippo Contempo продавались в оригинальной упаковке, внутри которой находилась серая замшевая коробка (в ней — сама зажигалка) и инструкция.

На Zippo Contempo, так же как и на классические бензиновые зажигалки Zippo, распространялась пожизненная гарантия:

Свое название эта серия зажигалок получила, вероятно, основываясь на веяниях моды и времени. “Contempo”, скорее всего, является сокращением от слова contemporary — англ. современный, соответствующий духу времени. Наверняка это было связано с тем, что газовые зажигалки в то время были не менее распространены, чем бензиновые, и чтобы восполнить этот пробел, Zippo MFG Company решили выпустить собственные бутановые зажигалки. Из наших предыдущих статей вы, наверное, все уже знаете, как компания любила экспериментировать.

Обратите внимание, что замена кремня на стандартных моделях (standard) и моделях слим (trim) заметно отличается:

Позиционирование Zippo Contempo, как правило, тоже отличалось от классических бензиновых Zippo. Если бензиновые Zippo как массовый товар позиционировались в качестве рабочих, надежных зажигалок, которые способны прослужить в самых суровых условиях, то Zippo Contempo больше походила на товар класса люкс. Это была попытка компании выйти на рынок бутановых зажигалок. Об этом косвенно говорят и цены в каталоге, учитывая, что продавались бутановые Zippo во второй половине 1980х гг.:

В 1988 году вышел каталог Zippo Sales Force, в котором говорилось о возможности заказа лазерной гравировки на зажигалку, включая модели для прикуривания трубок.

Zippo Contempo для трубок отличались от обычных более удлиненным и немного загнутым под углом «носиком». На фото ниже справа «трубочная» Zippo Contempo, слева — стандартная:

Производство Zippo Contempo было прекращено приблизительно в 1992 году. Основные причины закрытия этого проекта были связаны с высокой ценой самих зажигалок, а также в их дорогостоящем сервисном обслуживании. Несмотря на это, зажигалка стала весьма популярной среди коллекционеров и любителей Zippo, и в отличие от другой газовой модели — Zippo Blu, до сих пор пользуется спросом и находит своих почитателей.

Статья подготовлена на основе материалов сайта http://www.zippo-windproof-lighter.de

Читайте также:

Tags:

Оставить комментарий