«Zippo Advertising 1958-1967»

This is a rare book about Zippo among all ever released. More precisely, it is not about Zippo, and advertising Zippo. The book was released by Reader's Digest in the late 1960s, and it collected advertisements and pages about Zippo, published in the journal «Reader's Digest» and «Life» from 1958 to 1967. Most are black and white advertising pages with a rather well-known story - photo of an old lighters and short little story about her life. Leitmotif for advertising the same: "It is working so far."

By themselves, these declarations are now collector's rarity (I mean the original Advertising from magazines of those years). Perhaps they are not the most colorful in the history of Zippo-advertising, but certainly one of the most sincere. The very same book somewhere to find almost impossible - for example, over the past six months she indeed had never appeared on Ebay and is unlikely to be there by chance. Possible its collectible value I was horrified to think!

However, I have prepared a surprise to readers :) Thanks to German collector Georg Hamlet (George Hamlet), which has created such famous sites about Zippo, as dateyourzippo.com and Zippo-fan.net , we can all see this book right here - George kindly sent me its full scan. So below you can browse its pages for a few minutes to go back to 40 years ago, the magazines of that time :)

See also:

Tags: Advertising , Books

8 Comments

  1. botas (23.04.2009 00:49) ( Reply )

    A ride on the "time machine" in a heartbeat.

  2. solobok (27.04.2009 00:47) ( Reply )

    A beautiful thing! Thanks George Hamlet! In fact, a trip to historic periods. A selection also gives a fairly broad understanding of individual "fine-tuning" zippo owners: with napaek and engravings. And this gallery quietly "fused" to the gallery advertising, like as an incidental bonus. Think about it: how many more things in our everyday life, which are so often literally "chronicle" the important stages of our lives, without losing any of its utilitarian function (in this case - to give the fire)? And how many of them decorated with commemorative dates, things we use every day, many times (it uses a lighter smoker)? Lighter becomes an instrument of self-identification: a cigarette lighter held it and could not help remembering experiences. After all, as we know, the memory of the experience makes us human.

  3. Peter (01.12.2011 22:15) ( Reply )

    Collectible value of this book is $ 0.99 + $ 4 shipping :) Wonderful, more like a booklet book, bought on eBay recently.
    Scan, available here, it is not complete - the book also has instructions which ads What year is the (own ads - end of 1958 - beginning of 1967 (<-latest), so much to be exact), and the author of some of the advertising message if memory serves me - well, nothing important, but for the sake of completeness the fact.

    1. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:18) ( Reply )

      Peter, did you get the same thing that I have - that is, a modern reprint of the booklet :)

      1. Peter (01.12.2011 22:27) ( Reply )

        It is not like a modern reprint, and what kind of confidence :) Especially since not seen information on the Internet, which is a reprint of all, so that even less would like to believe -)

        1. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:29) ( Reply )

          Then let's pictures :)

          1. Peter (01.12.2011 22:32) ( Reply ) (Further comments do not nest)

            Better scan on leisure will do in the next few days, but what exactly and where to send - as always to the post :)

          2. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:34) ( Reply )

            the mail!

Leave a comment

«Zippo Advertising 1958—1967»

Это редчайшая книга о Zippo среди всех, когда-либо выпущенных. Точнее, она не о Zippo, а о рекламе Zippo. Книга была выпущена издательством Reader’s Digest в конце 1960-х годов и в ней собраны рекламные объявления и страницы про Zippo, публиковавшиеся в журналах «Reader’s Digest» и «Life» с 1958 по 1967 годы. В основном это чёрно-белые рекламные страницы с довольно известным сюжетом — фотографией одной старой зажигалки и коротеньким рассказом о её судьбе. Лейтмотив у рекламы одинаковый: «Она работает до сих пор».

Сами по себе такие объявления сейчас уже являются коллекционной редкостью (я имею в виду оригинальные рекламные развороты из журналов тех лет). Возможно, они не самые красочные за всю историю Zippo-рекламы, но уж точно одни из самых искренних. Саму же книгу где-то найти практически нереально — например, за последние полгода она вообще ни разу не появлялась на Ebay и вряд ли появится там случайно. О возможной её коллекционной стоимости мне даже страшно подумать!

Однако я приготовил читателям сюрприз :) Благодаря помощи немецкого коллекционера Георга Хамлета (George Hamlet), который создал такие известнейшие сайты про Zippo, как dateyourzippo.com и zippo-fan.net, мы все можем посмотреть эту книгу прямо здесь — Георг любезно прислал мне её полный скан. Так что ниже вы можете полистать её странички и на несколько минут вернуться на 40 лет назад, на страницы журналов тех лет :)

Читайте также:

Tags: ,

8 Комментариев

  1. botas (23.04.2009 00:49) (Ответить)

    Прокатился на “машине Времени”, с большим удовольствием.

  2. solobok (27.04.2009 00:47) (Ответить)

    Великолепная вещь! Спасибо Георгу Хамлету! В самом деле, путешествие по эпохам. Подборка еще и дает довольно широкое представление об индивидуальной “доводке” zippo владельцами: при помощи напаек и гравировок. И эта галерея незаметно “вплавлена” в галерею рекламы, как бы в качестве случайного бонуса. Задумайтесь: много ли еще в нашем обиходе вещей, которые так часто становятся буквально “летописью” важных этапов нашей жизни, при этом не теряя своей утилитарной функции (в данном случае - давать огонь)? И многие ли из таких, украшенных мемориальными датами, вещей мы используем каждый день многократно (как использует зажигалку курильщик)? Зажигалка становится инструментом самоидентификации: поднес зажигалку к сигарете и невольно вспомнил пережитое. Ведь, как известно, именно память о пережитом делает нас людьми.

  3. Peter (01.12.2011 22:15) (Ответить)

    Коллекционная ценность этой книги равна $0.99 + $4 доставка :) Чудесная,больше похожая на буклет книжка, куплена на eBay сравнительно недавно.
    Скан, имеющийся здесь, не совсем полный - в книге также есть указания, какая реклама к какому году относится (сами рекламы - конца 1958 - начала 1967(<-самая последняя), чтоб уж быть совсем точным), а также послание автора некоторых реклам,если меня память не подводит - в общем,ничего существенного, но для полноты картины самое то.

    1. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:18) (Ответить)

      Пётр, ты купил то же самое, что есть у меня — а именно, современный репринт этой брошюры :)

      1. Peter (01.12.2011 22:27) (Ответить)

        Не похожа она на современный репринт,да и чего такая уверенность?:)Тем паче,что не видал в интернетах информации,что вообще бывает репринт,так что ещё меньше верить хочется -)

        1. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:29) (Ответить)

          тогда фотки давай :)

          1. Peter (01.12.2011 22:32) (Ответить) (Дальше комментарии не вкладываются)

            Лучше скан, на досуге сделаю в ближайшие несколько дней, но чего именно и слать куда - как всегда на почту ?:)

          2. kypexin (01.12.2011 22:34) (Ответить)

            на почту!

Оставить комментарий